Home

Taste: 8/10

Service: 5/10

Options: A couple for vegetarians

My trip to Mama Zu’s was quite an experience. It’s at an interesting location in the Oregon Hill area, a place I don’t venture to too often. I’m so glad I went though. Don’t let the location, décor, or staff prevent you from going to this place; it’s amazing.

There were only two options for vegetarians, the Vegetable Lasagna, and the Eggplant Parmesan.

2014-01-16-20-03-22_photoI got the Eggplant Parmesan and ate the entire thing in 15 minutes. It was that good. The sauce was nice and flavorful with a perfect amount of salt and seasoning. The eggplant itself was cooked very well complimented the sauce perfectly. I still think about this dish from time to time!  I’ve had eggplant parm many, times in many restaurants but this was the best out of all of them. I am not the biggest fan of Italian food, but I absolutely loved this dish.

 

 

For dessert, I ordered the Tiramisu.

2014-01-16-20-53-58_photoI wasn’t a fan of this dish at all and couldn’t finish it, so I gave it to my friends who seemed to like it. There was an overpowering amount of alcohol in the dish that took away from the other components. I could barley taste the sweetness or anything else from it. The texture was nice but the flavor was too alcoholic for me.

Next time, I will try their Vegetable Lasagna as my dish and Cannoli for my dessert. A quick heads up though, Mama Zu’s only takes cash or checks, so your cards will not work here. If you haven’t been, I urge you to go! I plan on returning back here very soon.

Leave a Reply

